• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Square footage calculation - Maybe a new way?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Richard Carlsen

Thread Starter
Elite Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Michigan
I had a big house with lots of outside corners and cuts (all right angles however) that would have been fun and a little time consuming to calculate the square footage.

Then I had a brilliant idea. Use the new Street Atlas Deluxe to calculate the square footage.

I selected a map of a large area, went to draw selection, selected the polygon button and proceeded to draw the house on the map: 1 mile for each foot of the house. One of the features of this type of drawing is that the program calculates and gives you the area within the polygon. A few minutes later I was done and there it was. My subject floor plan drawn on the map and a read out of the square miles (square feet for the report) right in front of me.

Anyone else ever try this?
 

Neil (Texas)

Sophomore Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Texas
Sketch software will tell you the same thing and you don't have to attach an addendum explaining to the UW that the number of square miles should be read as "square feet."
 

Frederick R. Ruffell

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
California
Richard,

Most Appraisers i know are using software (i.e. Apex or Winsketch) to generate their sketch. This software intergrates with your appraisal software (assuming you are using software to generate your reports). I am young and have never had to fill out a report with a typewriter. I wonder what was used before that, hammer and chisel?
 

Caterina Platt

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
New Mexico
Sounds pretty ingenious if you haven't had access to a sketch program. I didn't get to use one until July of last year. My old boss absolutely refused to switch from drawing by hand and wouldn't install one. Said he'd have to be liable for any mistakes the program made in calculation. Like doing it by hand and calculating all the rectangles and squares didn't leave us up for more human error?! :roll:

When I left his shop, he brought back his old co hort who was more persuasive and finally got him to install Apex. I can say I remember what it was like shrink maps and floor plans on the copier then do the whole cut and paste nonsense. I remember 35 mm and constantly running to the photo processor. Can't imagine carbon paper and typewriters though. I'd be the whiteout queen of the biz.
 

Ben Vukicevich SRA

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
New Jersey
FRR

What was used before? Graph paper and a scale ruler, of course. My favorite scale to draw by was 1"=20'

You're not really old until you remember those first 3M copy machines with the pink rolls for negatives and the vacuum cleaner on the lid to lift the original up so the pink paper could roll by......And I'm "only" 48-look at the tales I can tell.

Ben
 

Blue1

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
California
I use a CADD program for all my drawings. It's much easier and faster than draw programs. It's a very old program that's like Auto Cadd. The only draw-back is I have to scan in the drawings but, not a big deal.
 

Kathy in FL

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Florida
I haven't done that, since I use WinSketch, but I have used my house sketch program to figure out the size of a lot...just what you did, but backwards. (I get alot of complex legals...and the sketcher uses degrees and everything...and I'm lazy...)

Kathy in FL
 

jtrotta

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Richard sounds interesting, but in calculating all those right angles due you get back to the start point :?: or is it always slightly off :?:

Was searching the other day & noted there is an infa red indoor room calculator, and will have to go back & see if it can be put right into the puter :?: They probably already exist, but haven't had the time to do much research lately 8O
 

Bryan (OK)

Sophomore Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
jtrotta,

As you said, if your measurements are wrong, you will not close the polygon with a CAD or sketcher program. Can be frustrating.

On the infrared . . . I use a Laser Dimension Master if doing inside measurements. Quick and easy. The laser is just a pointer / location indicator, I think it uses sound or something (can't remember the terminology). Just be careful with long narrow halls, as the readings can get skewed as the measurement cone reflects from the side.

I've seen the actual lasers but was quickly scared away by the $500 price tag. Has anybody used one? I read they will do outside measurements also. . . but way too expensive.

Bryan
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks