• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Stables And Out Buildings

Status
Not open for further replies.

DanWaechter

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
California
Need some help and/or advice on an agricultural property that I just saw. I am a relative newbie with about 400 appraisals done, but this is really my first large agricultural property on 12 acres. The property has a 23 year old split level home that has not been updated in 23 years, but more importantly it has an approximate 7000 SF building that was primarily used as stables. This building has been added onto a couple times and a couple of the added rooms are in pretty bad shape. The stable in general does not look like it has been used in many many years and does not appear to be in very good shape as well, but this comes from an appraiser who primarily deals with homes in the city. So, I am not sure whether this building is truly functional and is worth much money. There is also another out building of approximately 800-1000 SF which looks like part of it was used as a chicken coop, part of it for an area to store a tractor, and part as just an eclosed shed area. Any suggestions or input is greatly appreciated as to how to determine the overall value of these outbuildings. Thanks!

Jeff Horton

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Alabama
Your just going to have to look at you market and see what they pay for outbuildings.

In my market a large stable in good condition will return about 25% of it's cost new in value. If horses are big in you area it might be more. Only way to determine accurately is matched pairs and let the market tell you.

ccooper

Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Missouri
ditto jeff