• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Studying for FHA 10 question test

Status
Not open for further replies.

appraisalaska

Sophomore Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Alaska
I am within two weeks of getting my license back from the state certifying me (I'm a trainee right now, but the state verified they have what they need and I'm just waiting for them to sign my cert.) and I want to get ahead of the game with my FHA/HUD application ready to go. Is there any extra book, online course, etc. that I should really take before applying for FHA approval? I found the manual to read though that the test questions are based off but didn't know if there was any extra help that would be worth my time and money.

Thanks in advance

David Beasley

Professional Status
State
North Carolina
I would highly recommend an FHA appraising class. Just find one near you or online, the rules are the rules and each of them should be similar enough to work for you. I took an online FHA class from McKissock a year or several ago for CE, and it was OK. If you like to ask lots of questions though, or to pick an instructor's brain, or fellow appraiser's brains, better to find a live class going on somewhere.

Also, plug in www.hudclips.org to your internet browser's favorites list. You can find the "manual" (4150.2), appendices and mortgagee letters dating back to 1976 there (though most important ones for us are 2005 and forward). *MOST* FHA appraisal related questions have been answered somewhere in some document or another at HUDClips, you just have to learn how to search/use it properly - which can take some time to learn to do. I'd suggest you start practicing with it now. :)

TXCBoy36

Professional Status
State
Colorado