• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Subject to the VC conditions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob Bodkin

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Washington
Hi all,

I need the help of you super HUD appraisers. I've been doing FHA work for about 5 years and have encountered a situation that I am unclear on and can't find help in the 4150.2.

When I complete an appraisal and there are no negative issues noted in the VC or homebuyer sheets I mark the appraisal as-is and include the vc sheets and homebuyer summary in the atached addedum.

I was told today by another FHA appraiser that I respect very much, my dad, that I am doing it wrong and need to mark the form "subject to" the VC Conditions page.

I scoured the HUD site and REAC but can't find any answers. I'd love any feedback you might have.

Thanks,

Rob Bodkin
Freestone Partners

Wally Jones

Professional Status
State
Florida
Rob,

According to 4150.2, Appendix D, Comprehensive Valuation Package Protocol, page 18:

"Use the 'as-is' value only if there are no repairs needed or if the property is being rejected."

Hope this helps. (But contradicting a parent may be hazardous to your health!) 8)

Jo Ann Meyer Stratton

Elite Member
Professional Status
State
Arizona
What about subject to a termite inspection? Or if a manufactured home subject to the foundation being inspected by a professional engineer? One of those situations would create a "subject to" for a property without any other problems. Since every property in Arizona requires a terminte inspection, every FHA report is "subject to".

Brad Pack

Professional Status
General Public
State
California
Rob: