• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

The BPO scourge

Status
Not open for further replies.

Claude From NY

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
New York
In line with what Mike K. has brought to light on the main forum, if NY was a mandatory State or could effect legislation similar to that in Arkansas we could eliminate the current BPO BS. I have reason to believe that the vast majority of REO and pre-foreclosure valuations around here are being done using BPOs. Typically by real estate agents that have no intentions of receiving the listing, rather they are looking for supplemental income.

The only call I received last week was from somebody out of area looking to get a BPO on a property in Southampton, they though I was a broker because I'm with MLS.

I'm sorry, I'm not a broker and I don't do BPOs but I will be happy to assist you with an appraisal assignment request. Oh no, I don't want an appraisal, I just want to know what it's worth.............. :huh:

KenRossman

Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Florida
I spoke to a woman in W Babylon a few months ago.

When she found out I was an appraiser, she solicited me to do BPOs for her in Nassau, claiming she was working 7 days a week, 10-12 hours a day & couldn't keep up with the demand. She supposedly works for several banks directly, mostly pre-foreclosure work.

David Wimpelberg

Staff member
Professional Status
State
New York
The only call I received last week was from somebody out of area looking to get a BPO on a property in Southampton, they though I was a broker because I'm with MLS.

They probably contacted you because they can't find anyone out here to do them.:)