• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Thinking of getting out

Status
Not open for further replies.

milehigh

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Colorado
I'm fed up. I have been appraising for over 15 years but I think I have had enough. The pressure from lenders and agents was bad enough when the market was strong. Now it has become unbearable. With declining markets and properties in poor condition the pressure has become worse. In my area 90% of the neighborhoods have declining markets. Every report I do in a declining area ends up with pressure coming from lenders, agents and buyers to change it. I am trying to do my job in a professional manner and protect the buyers and lenders, but they don't seen to care. I end up being accused of everything from incompetance to discrimination. Many properties and in foreclosure and many of those are in fair to poor condition. Again, every report I do with less than average condition ends up with a fight, pressure and stress.

Not only are we getting stress from the lenders but the board of real estate in my area is on a witch hunt. Appraisers are taking the brunt of the blame for the mortgage mess. Even honest appraisers that did the best job they could are being accused of incompetance.

Maybe I am being a wimp but I think I have had enough and just wanted to vent. I think I may leave the business.

Dee Dee

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Colorado
What took you so long? :)

I stepped away from appraising nearly 3 years ago because I saw what was coming down the chutes (Colorado was one of the first states to start tanking) and refused to discount my fees to compete with sweatshop trainees for work.