• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

To turn in the appraiser or to not turn in the appraiser?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kim grant

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
California
First, to ally anyone's curiousity -- I have been appraising for 25+ yrs, reviewing for 15+.

When do you all think a review appraiser should file a compliant on an appraiser who's work is under their review and proven otherwise shoddy, substandard or fraudulent?

I personally go through phases where I think to myself "not my job" then swing over to "my duty to my profession" I won't sit here and tell you all that I have never turned in an appraiser -- I have, many times in fact, but generally speaking I close the file jacket, file it in the cabinet after report delivery and forget about it. I could tell you I tons of war stories, but let's face it -- we all have them and maybe that is exactly the problem.

Personally, I do not think an appraiser with less than 10 years experience should be completing comprehensive review work. I know many of you will disagree with me but until your standing with over 20 years experience, you really can't say anything that would change my mind about that. It's not an ego thing, it's that I compare my skills now to my skills 10-15 years ago and I know there is a world of difference in both skill and maturity as an appraiser. It's a shame the clients don't see it that way.