• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Trade Act And Newbies

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paul Sandeen

Freshman Member
I am a newbie wanting to enter the appraisal field. My background is in machining however I have had considerable experience in drafting,blueprint reading,and other related areas.

The company I worked for has closed its doors and moved its operations to Mexico. This has openned the door to training dollars and schooling through the trade act. My questions :
1.Does your forum know if the trade act will infact help with the training of a newbie?
2. Would it be better to go to school first or to find a mentor and learn the basics before the school?

The forums help in this matter could help me with my future. I am willing to do the work but helping the mentor with the expenses my improve my chances in finding a mentor.

Jim Williams

Freshman Member
Paul, Good question as I went through the same thing myself. In Oregon they would not pay for the schooling unless I could coordinate with the school and an Appraiser to pretty much guarantee me employment once I was done with the classes. Their reasoning is that because we must mentor and earn 2000 points to become an appraiser I was not quote "job ready"
I tried that but as it was hard to find a mentor in the first place it did not work out and I just paid for the schooling myself and found a great mentor a short time after I was done with school. At the time I thought it would be a good deal for an Appraiser as the Employment Dept. would have paid for the schooling and my unemployment during most of my Apprenticeship.
Dealing with the government is always a crap shoot and in your state you may find a counselor who will not have a problem with it.