• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Trainee Hours

Status
Not open for further replies.

undergroundPOP

Sophomore Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
California
I've accrued 780 hours so far towards my AG license and I'm steadily chipping away at the required 3,000 hours... My question is about the reasonable number of hours I can report for each appraisal assignment.

Being at the bottom of the totem pole as a trainee, I often get the complex assignments that pay the lowest fees. This translates to long hours of researching, analyzing and writing. It's not unusual for me to spend 3+ weeks on a single assignment, so is it reasonable for me to report that I spent 120+ hours on an appraisal? I'm just concerned that the CA OREA might think that I'm spending too much time on each report and not accept that I may have spent 120 hours on an assignment.

What has been your experience in the past as a trainee or supervising a trainee?

Michigan CG

Staff member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Michigan
If you are spending three weeks on a report then you are not being given enough help or guidance.

undergroundPOP

Sophomore Member
Professional Status
State
California
If you are spending three weeks on a report then you are not being given enough help or guidance.

You raise a good point, but I don't think that that's the case. Each appraisal is unique and pose a different set of problems each time you begin an assignment. Perhaps a 3-week turnaround time is long for you, but I see that you're a Certified General Appraiser and you have much more work experience than I do. I'm hoping that as I become more proficient at my work, my hours spent on each job will decrease.

undergroundPOP

Sophomore Member
Professional Status
State
California