• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Unique property in unique location

Status
Not open for further replies.

DanWaechter

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
California
I am a relative newbie that was assigned to do an appraisal on a unique property in Alexandria, Virginia, just outside of Washington DC. Here are the specifics. Rancher house built in 1940 with a stone exterior. No basement. The attic was expanded and made into a second floor. The property is on a half acre in a very small community of homes (approximately 25) that were built on a piece of land between the George Washington Memorial Parkway and the Potomac River. The property is likely worth 2-3 times what the home is worth, and it is possible that someone may be willing to pay upwards of 800000 to 1 million just for the right to own that piece of land as it is so unique, wooded, and there are only a few pieces of land in such an incredible location.

Obviously my problem are comps. I cannot find a rancher/rambler style home that was built from stone, and second, this neighborhood is so unique and desirable, people dont move. All the homes are completely different in the neighborhood, and even though I can find a home or two that have sold in the neighborhood, they are nothing like the subject.

My dillema. Find a comparable house outside the area, and make a HUGE adjustment to the property value, or use a home in the neighborhood and make huge adjustments because the homes look nothing like one another, but their property values are pretty similar. Any help or suggestions on how to appraise this would be greatly appreciated. Please let me know if you need any additional information. Thank you

Lee in L.A.

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
California