• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Urgent! Trainee needs advice!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne K Hansen

Sophomore Member
I'm a brand new trainee. A job has come up and I'm not sure what the expectations should be on both sides.
-This trainee job seems to require that I have a lot of my own set up including access to MLS, software, camera, laser printer, color printer, fax,DSL, and any other equipment or softwareUrge necessary. Is this normal?

-Also, he lists turn around time requirements and I have no idea if they are realistic or not for a brand new trainee.
Full appraisal, 5 days
Drive-by appraisal, 4 days
Final inspection, 1 day
addenda w/ outside confirmation, 5 days
All other addenda, 3 days

-Are there expectations (in writing?) that I should have as to his contribution to my training and to my logging of training?

Thanks, SKH

Terrel L. Shields

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Arkansas
I would think it is relatively normal to expect you to have your own office, phone, digital camera, scanner, fax, & pay for your own equipment, MLS access, etc. assuming you will be paid at least 50/50 once you have a few (6 mo. or so) appraisals under your belt.

5 days appears adequate for a full appraisal. Frankly, there is so little between a full and drive by, I see no real difference, but 4 days isn't that much for a garden variety dwelling. Anything that involves a geodesic home, log home, complex rural homeor mansion (1 million or so) might require more, but should be illiciting a much greater fee. I would say that the mentor should limit the number of appraisals you work on to 1 at a time until you are basically familiar with the report format he or she expects and you typing speed comes up to snuff.