• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

USPAP Causing Fee Increase on Reviews ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a little slow on the up-take and finally got around to reading changes in Standard 3..........."an appraisal review that includes the reviewer's own opinion of value must be reported in a least a Summary Appraisal Report format"....hmm, sounds like a fee increase for reviews is in order. As of
Thursday AM all request for reviews will be same as full appraisal. Will let them all know up front when order is placed, as it can't be determined in advance. What say you ?

Verne Hebert

Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Montana
I say absolutely. You know, my market is rural here. But I have been charging full appraisal fee for reviews for two years.

It might be different if I had some good work to review but it is just not the case, and didn't have to truly perform a full appraisal.

A full appraisal is truly what they want............they just don't want to pay for it.

Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Florida
My review fee has been same as full for over a year now.

Course, I don't get too many of them.

If you don't charge at least full rate, IMO, your harming yourself and all the rest of us. Reviews take a lot of work!

jtrotta

It's not only the work; it's the "RESPONSIBILITY" you have to accept once you put your name, even on the Review - your liability increase's dramatically.

We stopped duing Reviews about a year ago for that simple reason; if ya have enough work already, why would you want to tackle someone else's crapola; on top of which if ya git "Multi's" who wants ta do that stuff for any less than a typical Fee.

8)

Jeff Horton

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Alabama