• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

USPAP Updates

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jason Snider

Sophomore Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Florida
Hey everybody this is my first post, I am a Residential Trainee Appraiser and am up for certification in 6 months. My question is, I was wondering how everyone gets their updates for USPAP when rules change?

Thanks

Carnivore

Elite Member
Supporting Member
Professional Status
State
North Carolina
Jason,

Welcome to the forum!

IMHO you are not ready to go out on your own.

Welcome again.

Sincerely

p.s. I waited five years before I went out on my own. I dont consider myself to be the sharpest knife in the drawer, but I am certainly not the tupperware spatula either. I am glad I waited.

Jo Ann Meyer Stratton

Elite Member
Professional Status
State
Arizona
I agree, you won't be ready to go out on your own for several years--you need the day to day or hour to hour of working with a mentor.

But right now you could start attending chapter meetings of a professional organization. Go the the NAIFA and AI websites and locate a local chapter. Attend both if both are available, find one that you feel welcome and comfortable with. Attend their residential seminars that might be available in your area. Join this chat room and the chat rooms for the NAIFA and AI. The more exposure you have to experience appraisers the better!

http://www.naifa.com

http://www.appraisalinstitute.org

http://www.appraisalfoundation.org

Become very familiar with those websites----read, read, read, read!

Richard Carlsen

Elite Member
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Michigan
Jason