• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Valuing A Leasehold...

Status
Not open for further replies.

robertwessel

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Illinois
Have a client who is being evicted via eminent domain. Would like an estimate of value of the balance of lease - 30 months. I don't yet know if the current lease is at, above, or below market. Anyone have a sample report they'd care to share?

Richard Carlsen

Elite Member
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Michigan
I'm not an expert on income property (in fact I don't do income properties anymore) but I would think this would be a straight forward appraisal of the leasehold value whereby you determine through market analysis of other similar rentals and come up with a fair monthly rent.

The leasehold value should be the same as his possessory interest which is in fact, the fair monthly rent of the place.

At least that's the way I see it.

Restrain

Elite Member
Professional Status
State
Florida
Get a copy of Kinnards "Income Appraisal". It goes into detail as to leased fee, leasehold, etc from a commercial viewpoint. Should give you some help.

Roger

Fred

Elite Member
Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Virgin Islands
Robert,
Sharing reports may violate confidentiality, but I have done a couple of these. First, there is little likelihood that a tenant has a valuable interest with only 30 months to go on the lease.

This is a DCF appraisal.