• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Very new and struggling with A la Mode

Status
Not open for further replies.

CatherineR

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
New Mexico
I'm brand new at this. I just finished all of my classes in October and have passed the big exam. (With the new law changes for Jan. 08, my state (New Mexico) basically said, "to get in under the old laws: take your classes and get your Apprentice license by Nov 15, 2007; take and pass the big Certified Residential Exam by December 31, 2007 and we'll give you exactly two years (no more and no less!) to get your 2500 hours.)
So I have done all that and am now starting to work on my hours. I found a Supervisor (very hard to do!) and he got me started by doing an appraisal of my own house. I earn my living as a Realtor and feel like I have a fairly decent handle on assessing the various qualities of a property, but I am having a miserable time with the a la mode software. So far it's taken me 43 hours just to appraise my own house! Is this common with beginners? Does anyone have any suggestions? I see that a la mode is having a regional conference in April and I am considering going to take as many classes as I can. Has anyone gone to these conferences before? Are they helpful? Are the classes good?
Thanks in advance for any help you can give,
Catherine

George Hatch

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
California
The learning curve of the software packages can be pretty long, especially if you're trying to work through it on your own and without any assistance.

In your place here's how I would do it: