• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

What to do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Indiana Jones

Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Indiana
This is my first post, :D I've been lurking for awhile but I have a question. I am a trainee about to get a CR in Jan. I've asked my supervisor about this but I would like another opinion. What do you do when you have a property in a tract neighborhood that only has 3 or 4 models, you measure the house, and the sf comes out, say 200 sf larger than the assessors record. (Happens all the time here, the assessor is wrong 90% of the time.) You've got a comp that is the exact same model as the the subject (so you know it's the same sf)yet the MLS & assessor has it as the same size as what the subject is LISTED. Now I've got a comp that is the same size as the subject, but no way to prove it. Adjust for the sf or explain in an addendum?

airphoto

Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Pennsylvania
Mike,

You've two choices:

Enter what you've determined to be the correct figure (GLA) for both subject and comp, with the remark saying what you've just said in your post, or:

Enter your own measured values for the subject, and the MLS/Assessor value for the comp WITH NO ADJUSTMENT explained by what you've just said in your post.

Six of one, half a dozen of the other .. but fully disclosed ..

graindart

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Montana
Are you sure that the subject's model wasn't added on to? I've seen these new housing developements with only 3 or 4 models to choose from, and sometimes there are options in a specific model.