• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Which interior photos to include?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug in NC

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
North Carolina
I occasionally get requests from non-regular clients requiring interior photos on mortgage finance assignments. Which pictures do you usually include and how many are typical/acceptable? I'm not talking about damage shots, just room pics. I typically provide pics of kitchen, dining, and living/family room. A broker recently told me to basically send a shot of every room! I don't mind doing it, but I would like to know upfront so that I can set my fees appropriately. She told me interior pics were required on a FHA job, and I told her I have been doing FHA for many years and have never once been asked for interior room pics.

Mztk1

Professional Status
State
Florida
I have some client that require interior photos. So I don't forget I take the photos required by most demanding client in every house. It used to be LR, DR & Kitchen, but now one client wants LR, DR, Kit'n, 1BR, 1BA, and that is usually what I do, though sometimes I take 2 Baths instead of the BR because taking pictures of bedrooms really creeps me out.

The only time I've heard of requiring pictures of every room has been with foreclosure work. I do FHA as well and have not heard of any interior pic requirement, though I include them anyway.

Carnivore

Elite Member
Supporting Member
Professional Status
State
North Carolina
Doug,

Your a Nationwide Top 5% RELO Appraiser. What works well for you in that specialty?

Mike Kennedy

Elite Member
Professional Status
State
New York
Photos which mirror the sketch (including basement & garage)