• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Yet Another Career Change Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

MattWilliams

Freshman Member
Hi everyone,

I have just found your wonderful forum, and I have read through several threads in the newbie section, as well as much of the FAQs section. Hopefully I won't start off by annoying you all by covering the same ground that you have already been over.

I don't really know where to start, I may be just needing encouragememnt here, or there may be a question or two by the end; I would definately be excited to find someone in Gig Harbor or Tacoma who would like to take me on as an apprentice!

After only a couple of years as a Realtor, I decided to chuck it and follow a supposedly more enjoyable vocation, which was Pastry chef. I spent two years in school, during which time I not only made no money, but ran up student loans and watched my savings dwindle to nothing. Then I started working, and found that it wasn't nearly as much fun as I thought, and also that there really isn't any money in it. That career path morphed into waiting tables, which is more lucrative but hardly a fitting place for me at age (ahem) 41 and beyond. The beyond is coming up quick.

I had greatly enjoyed many aspects of Real Estate. The part that drove me nuts was having my pager go off constantly, and having clients call my home at 11 p.m. expecting me to be available. Also, there is no such thing as a weekend. Saturday and Sunday are for driving around with clients; Monday through Friday are business days.