• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

0 for 2 now on Licensed Appraisal Exam

Status
Not open for further replies.

oldguard

Sophomore Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Texas
Any suggestions would be appreciated.

The questions that I studied in Champions Prep Class, McKissock Classes and Champions were not near the same on the test imo. Just signed up for Compucram and hope that this will get me over the line!!

We used to have pre-test (no credit) prep classes. I don't know of anyone offering them. Too few students I suppose. I would opt for Hondros and study 1 and 2 of USPAP a lot. Then a good basic text over and over until you get sick of it...then read it again.

I just took the Licensed exam last week and passed on the first try. Took McKissock QE and also their test prep stuff which was around $100 I believe. My experience with the test was to take the time to understand the question being asked. Many times I’d read a question and an answer would come to me, but after retreading the question I found I was interpreting what was being asked incorrectly and adjust my answer. Know how long to keep your work files in the case of litigation, that came up a couple times with the answers being date ranges from the closure of the litigation case. I read USPAP cover to cover which really helped. Know your HPC12, I don’t know how one would pass without it. I took all practice tests and worked through every question I go wrong until I understood the material. My weakness is income approach which is understandable as my market is mostly single family residential and that is what I work in. But IA is only 9% of the test.

Exam outline is:
RE Market 20%
Property description 12%
land site valuation 4%
Sales comparison approach 22%
cost approach 15%
income approach 9%
reconciliation 2%
USPAP 16%