• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Easement question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gobears81

Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Illinois
This is a question that isn't on a residential property but could potentially apply to any property type, so posting in the general appraisal section. If a property has an easement that was acquired by an entity that has power of eminent domain, can said party transfer the easement rights to an entity that does not have power of eminent domain without the consent of the original property owner?

Thanks

Sure, just like transferring a billboard except via sale. Or conservation easement from local to national...fyi I'm not a lawyer.

Wouldn't it depend on the terms of the easement?

Easements = separation of rights but to what degree would that prevent transfer? Maybe if it's an Indian Burial mound??

Maybe if it's an Indian Burial mound??
That is not an easement. It falls under the Native American Graves, Protection and Repatriation Act (NAGPRA.) Problem on Indian (usually Mississippian culture) mounds is that many of the mounds were not burial mounds but ceremonial and stopping development is difficult in that case. Preservation easements are often sought by tribes in that case, but usually cannot stop development and many of the more complex mounds along the Mississippian and Ohio River valleys have been severally damaged by developers and towns themselves.

It would make the question easier to understand if it were described using appropriate terms:

"The party gaining the benefit of the easement is the dominant estate, while the party granting the benefit or suffering the burden is the servient estate."

Haven't written many easements, but they tend to run with the title, but could also be written to be extinguished.