• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Job search advice for a licensed residential trainee & plan B given rate environment

Ambrosia

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Pennsylvania
I am a young professional with four years of broad real estate market research experience with national coverage. I am moving to Philly early August from Idaho. I am not from Philly, but intend to make it my home. I have an active PA residential trainee license there, issued in May 2024, but no supervisor yet. I will finish all required classes this year. I'm just beginning on my job search. I have only sent out a dozen resumes to small appraisal firms there, and received just one potential interview.

A few appraisers indicated that my residential track would not be suited for their business. Given my residential track, what kinds of private sector companies should I search for?

One appraiser said that he would like to wait to see what interest rates do. Based on quick research, it seems likely that the Fed will cut rates soon. I am trying not to be discouraged. If I can’t land a trainee position because of adversarial market conditions, which kinds of real estate companies, which would allow me to do similar work even if it doesn’t count as official experience hours, would be least affected by a downturn in the market? What about something like construction estimating or building inspection that would provide more knowledge of how a house is put together? Maybe assisting a realtor or something dealing with the building materials and marketing trends of homes?

Any insight or advice is greatly appreciated :giggle: