• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

TAF's Industry Advisory Council

Status
Not open for further replies.

George Hatch

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
California
First off, let me preface this by acknowledging that I am one of the 600. One of the first, as a matter of fact. I am an AQB Certified USPAP Instructor and one of the conditions I agree to in order to hold that cert is to be an advocate for USPAP and to support the party line when acting in that role. I am a cheerleader and if that means wearing the skirt and waving the pom-poms then so be it. I am not ashamed of my association with this endeavor nor do I see any reason to apologize for anything I've ever done whilst acting in that capacity.

----------------

A number of our posters have expressed some dismay about the composition of the structure of The Appraisal Foundation, including its IAC. It's the kind of thing that typically ebbs and flows, but right now we seem to be at a high point. That being the case, I think a little dialogue on the subject may be appropriate.

Here is the Mission Statement of The Appraisal Foundation:

The Appraisal Foundation, a not-for-profit educational organization dedicated to the advancement of professional valuation, was established by the appraisal profession in the United States in 1987. Since its inception, the Foundation has worked to foster professionalism in appraising by:

- establishing, improving, and promoting the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP);

- establishing educational and experience qualification criteria for the licensing, certification and recertification of appraisers;