• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Forum Sponsor - a la mode

Learn more about Titan Reports, our new cloud-based formfiller, SmartExchange, Titan Office, and Titan Drive to see how you can revolutionize your appraisal business.

ACI Version 8.2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Larry L\'Heureux

Thread Starter
Freshman Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
I, like everyone else, have made do with ACI and consecquently have many of my own conventions to "make it go". If I were not so busy I'd load up another software for sure.

A few days ago I loaded version 8.2. Things haven't been the same since. A major problem has developed. In the system monitor.....CPU kernal % usage.....When I first boot up in the morning my computer operates as usual. After about 5 minutes in ACI the CPU usage goes to 100% and stays there until I restart my computer and we go through the same thing over again. Operating speed slows such that the computer does not recognize the second click in a double click and the mouse has to be scrolled several times to move the curser across the screen. I have been on the phone with Dell tech for two days and we have been through more diagnostics than I knew existed. They tell me the problem is in the ACI software. Maybe the software has a "leak" or doesn't release the cpu after an operation.

I will appreciate any insight or suggestions you may have......

Does anyone else have the same type of problem?

Do you get the same type of blame others from ACI?

I had hoped that a new owner would be anxious for success but apparently they have kept the loyal crowd to blow off their customers.

Thanks for your help and suggestions.

Larry
 

EDWARD BERRY

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Arkansas
THIS wil not help much, but the new version is OK.

Some minor work around situations--but acceptable.

Sorry I cannot help more---

I installed it on a new system-$699 BEST BUY but (PIII) with added memory.

Never will I use an old system-too much finger pointing-losing two days work-pays for new system.

Regrets-ed in arkansas
 

jtrotta

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Larry,
Haven't had to make do with anything in ACI; so I don't know where your comming from; to make lofe simple for you tho, I will quote my old time favorite tech; what you need to remember is that every single program your running has a particular driver; back in the days of yore and when everything was in DOS format, drivers were written into place for a particular product; they now intertwine as I understand it.
therefor, your problems can come from all over the place and sometimes you have to sit down and actually figure where you delema really is.
Try getting an ACI tech to walk you thru a "re-install" ; and try to remeber how it's done; if that doesn't work, you then have your work cut out for you, as you will have to do a process of elimination yourelf, or hire a tech; just remember if you hire a tech, he doesn't know one thing about the software your using or he knows a good deal because he's worked on someone else's.

Good Luck
8)
 

Dave Smith

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Wisconsin
Larry:

Before I added more Ram to my system I had some of the problems you describe. I now have 512 Meg of Ram and my ACI problems are ALMOST gone. I'm working with a Dell 500 XPS 500 system. Sometimes I still have an ACI crash but that is usuallyafter I have gone long hours without any re-boots. I re-boot and all is fine.

ACI admits to a problem when editing the Addendum sections that causes crashes. So far I've heard nothing from them about a fix and I've had a hard time identifiying the steps I take leading up to a crash while editing an addendum.

Good luck and keep us posted.
 

James Bourgeois

Freshman Member
Joined
May 20, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Louisiana
Dave, I've had the same problem...they occur mostly when I'm exiting the addendum and it's saving. The dreaded error message pops up and it's close or details. Details are meaningless so I close.

I've had fewer since I've started waiting to exit the addendum until after the next autosave. By waiting, I've avoided crashes when exiting the addendum. You might try it. I've got my autosave set to 1 minute so I don't have to wait long.
 

Larry L\'Heureux

Thread Starter
Freshman Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Dave

I'm using a Dell 8100 with 256K which I thought would be enough but your suggestion to go to 512K is a good one. I'll do that. I've been unable to correct the cpu usage rate at 100% and now I'm getting random run error messages. Not frequently but once or twice a day.

I just finished a cup of coffee on my deck with my three cats and a dog. Its a beautiful Memorial Day. Everything is lush from all the rain. Good day for a walk.

Thanks
 

jtrotta

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Larry
just so you know, I'm running a Dell 8100 with 256 also; how much junk are you running in the background :?: If you have all the crap Dell loads, you need to get it out, call Dell Tech and tell them you want to trim down your start up programs to those that are only necessary. See if that improves your system and then make a determination.

Good Luck

8)
 

Ted Martin

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Kansas
I suspect you need more ram. You might also try reinstalling the ACI software. I've also seen a conflict with the Roxie Direct CD program.
 

TC

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Pennsylvania
Be aware that the Roxie CD program caused major conflicts with my Sony XP. I had to re-install the OS until I pinpointed the problem. If you install the program make sure you get the patch from the internet and follow the directions to the letter.

TC
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks