• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Forum Sponsor - a la mode

Learn more about Titan Reports, our new cloud-based formfiller, SmartExchange, Titan Office, and Titan Drive to see how you can revolutionize your appraisal business.

Acrobat/WinTOTAL Problems in Windows XP?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sooner Mike

Thread Starter
Freshman Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Oklahoma
I have just recently had a new computer built with Windows XP Professional. I re-installed WinTOTAL using the old c:win2000 folder that I burned from the old machine, and re-installed Adobe Acrobat 5.0. When I try to "Print to PDF," using the Acrobat Distiller, it locks up the "WinTOTAL instaprint," and will not produce a pdf file. I installed an older version of "Acroabat PDF Writer," version 3.0 I Believe. It works, but the pdf file are 1.5 - 2 megs, they were all under 1 meg when I used "distiller." I have broadband download, but dial-up upload, so the smaller the file the better. I uninstalled and re-installed both Acrobat 5.0 and WinTOTAL from the CD's, but still had no luck. Can anyone suggest anything to get the "distiller' working again.
 

Tim Hicks (Texas)

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Texas
I just bought a new computer. I have Athena and Adobe 5.0. I installed Athena first then adobe. It works fine. Distiller works fine. Try calling tech support and see if they have a an answer. I don't think it is an alamode problem since they both loaded fine on my computer. Did you try the Edomina Exact and vault. I just loaded the most recent Athena CD, downloaded the latest updates, downloaded my setting from exact and downloaded my files (this years, I have five previous years on CD) frm the vault. I was up and running in less than two hours without missing a beat.
 

David Mullen

Junior Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
I had similar problems in the Appraisers Toolbox. Version 5.05 worked for a long time and periodically would develope similar problems. Had to reinstall Adobe Version 4.05c many times and it works with no problems including creating small files.

Adobe has some fixes buried on their web site and I provided a link to them in a posting here about a week ago. If you cannot find it, let me know and I will dig it up and post it again.

Their fixes helped my system after many months of installing and reinstalling the Adobe Software. It still has one little glitch that is annoying but does not stop it from producing a pdf file so I am just going to live with that until Adobe is able to make their Version 5.x completely compatable with XP.
 

Sooner Mike

Thread Starter
Freshman Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Oklahoma
DaveM,

I went to the support knowledgebase link that you provided, however the "solution" did not work. Is there a software patch from Adobe, or are the "fixes" similar to this one? If you have a link to anything that may help, I would appreciate it.

Thanks
 

Dan/Fla

Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Florida
I upgrade this computer from ME to XP months ago, found that nothing lower than adobe 5.0 will support XP, bought the $99.00 upgrade for my adobe and had not had any problems since.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks