• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

ANSI Question regarding a one story home

Status
Not open for further replies.

StrongTower

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Missouri
Hello, this is my first time on this forum. I appreciate any feedback on an ANSI situation I ran into today. I am working on a Form 1004 FNMA appraisal. This is a one story residential single family home on a crawl space with no garage. I measured a nearly perfect rectangle house today that has a total exterior measurement of 972sf. Once I entered the home, the Living Room, and 2 bedrooms have ceiling heights of at least 7.5". The kitchen, eating space, laundry, mudroom and bathroom (a one bath home), have ceiling heights of 6'10". How do I address this? It is nearly 50% that does meet ANSI and 50% of the sf that does not. I appreciate any feedback on how to handle this situation. Thank You.

I would include all SqFt in the GLA and explain your reasons. ANSI is not absolute. If you go strictly by ANSI this house would not be eligible for any type of mortgage transaction since it would have no kitchen or bathroom. Use common sense. What would the average buyer expect and how common is this in the market? Would buyers even know the difference between 6'10" and 7' ceilings? You might want to inform the lender before proceeding. Again, explain in the addendum what you did.

Technically, the GLA is only the area exceeding 7 feet, so 450sf or whatever, and the remaining area should go on a separate line at the bottom of the grid. The room counts are not impacted and will be 5/2/1. The 50% rule only applies to sloped ceilings, so not applicable here. Others will says used the exception code on this, but I don’t think so.