• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Appraisal For A Tax Appeal

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lonny Hogan

Sophomore Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
Hello all,

I've just been contacted by someone wanting an appraisal done for a tax appeal. I've never done one for this purpose before. If anyone knows of any red flags, special procedures, or precautions I should be taking I'd sure appreciate the feedback.

Let me know what you think

Lonny

airphoto

Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Pennsylvania
Not complicated ..

Use same valuation date as the municipality (in NY it's January 1st.) If possible, stay within the municipality for comparable sales, or at the very least within the school system. Most important: be paid 'up front' regardless of the results!

Terrel L. Shields

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Arkansas
My best advice is to not appraise it but rather to seek the flaws in the assessor's appraisal. Since most assessment appraisals are cost approach (even when they claim they are sales), the argument generally involves condition and effective age as well as an analysis of the grade (quality). I have actually got assessments lowered that were in line with Market Value by pointing out the errs that favored my client and neglecting to point out the errors that favored the assessor.

Ask them to provide the sales they use to support the value and prove them superior to your subject; and / or pick them apart. A FOI request generally gets all their info and it will be sparse unless a large subdivision.