• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Broker/Appraiser

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

PJK03

Hello folks, I saw something a while ago on this site, but I don't remember where. So here goes, I am a broker/residential appraiser. I want to offer a free appraisal if someone lists with me. I will explain to them it is only for their personal use. Aside from that, is this legal, ethical, good idea, or bad idea. I would like to hear the various opinions out there. Thanks

P.S. Don't get hung up on my status. I am no longer a trainee.

Mike Kennedy

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
New York
"I want to offer a free appraisal if someone lists with me."

Appraisal Certification & Limiting Conditions

a. Statements of fact contained in this Report are true and correct.
b. Reported analyses, conclusions, and opinions herein are limited only by the reported assumptions, and the Limiting Conditions attached hereto, and are my personal, unbiased, impartial, and professional analyses, conclusions, and opinions.

c. I have no present or prospective interest in the Subject Property and I have no personal interest or bias with respect to the parties involved.

Suggest choosing which Hat you're gonna wear...... and NEVER wearing BOTH at once.

Broker; cma / BPO

Appraiser; appraisal.

Last edited:

DWiley

Elite Member
Professional Status
State
Tennessee
Why not get the opinion of the ASB. Take your copy of USPAP, and turn to AO-21.

Being an appraiser required independence, objectivity and impartiality. How can you have those while also being the agent hat?

P

PJK03