• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Forum Sponsor - a la mode

Learn more about Titan Reports, our new cloud-based formfiller, SmartExchange, Titan Office, and Titan Drive to see how you can revolutionize your appraisal business.

Complete Backup

Status
Not open for further replies.

KinIL

Thread Starter
Sophomore Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2005
Professional Status
General Public
State
Illinois
Anyone know a method for complete backup of Wintotal and all of it's databases? I've got a server install to run it between my workstation and laptop, and have a strong tingly sensation that the server is about to fail.

Thanks!
 

Michael Chu

Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Georgia
Depends

What version of Wintotal?
If you are on Athena, it is a matter of copying one directory and a few INI files.
If you are on Aurora, I would recommend a disk imaging operation (Norton Ghost recommended)

Do you have a server OS: ie Windows Server?
 

Jonah

Junior Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2006
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Utah
I have my Aurora backed up on an external hard drive.
 

Michael Chu

Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Georgia
Aurora may need more work

If you just copy the wintotal directory you will have a backup of all your reports, however it will not save the contacts, compsDB and many other database parts which is NOT a complete backup but a minimal backup; and not really helpful in a PC disaster situation.

Aurora runs on a desktop version of MS SQL database which requires more steps for a complete backup (which is beyond the scope of this post).

As I posted earlier, the easiest "complete" backup would be to image the whole disk on the server (if healthy), but if your current issue(s) with the server lies in software (ie. the files on the server) instead of the hardware, the imaging operation will not solve the problem, only replicate it.

If you are looking to restore the current install of Aurora running as the server-side, you have to be tech-savvy.

A viable method was outlined by a Mr. Tom Grazioli in this thread.

Those steps may not make sense to an average user, but I think short of paying alamode for the Vault service, this is the best way to backup Aurora "completely".

.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2004
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Arkansas
Anyone know a method for complete backup of Wintotal and all of it's databases? I've got a server install to run it between my workstation and laptop, and have a strong tingly sensation that the server is about to fail.

Thanks!
[FONT=&quot]this is in truth a no brainer. If you have SBS2003 like I do, just use the built in Backup software and back up to a external drive.

To find the backup
Start
All programs
Accessories
System tools
Backup

And then just follow the prompts. Quick and simple to set up.


[/FONT]
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks