• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Does Your E&O Cover Measuring Services?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BarrySW1963

Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Texas
Meaning, services provided (usually to homeowners or real estate agents) to measure a house (same as for an appraisal) for the purposes of listing a house for sale?

If your E&O covers it, please share your carrier info.

If it doesn't, and you measure houses as a service as an appraiser, how do you cover your liability?

VolcanoLvr

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Washington
While I'm not an insurance expert, I suspect most E&O policies don't cover 'measuring' as a separate service. Measuring is not appraisal service because their is no value statement issued.

You should consult an insurance provider in your area and ask for info on business liability insurance.

CANative

Elite Member
Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
California
While I'm not an insurance expert, I suspect most E&O policies don't cover 'measuring' as a separate service. Measuring is not appraisal service because their is no value statement issued.

You should consult an insurance provider in your area and ask for info on business liability insurance.

It is appraisal practice because it is being completed by a person who is marketing the service as an appraiser.

VolcanoLvr

Professional Status
State
Washington
I suggest everyone read USPAP, page 1, definitions - for Appraisal Practice.

"Measuring" is not a VALUATION SERVICE.

Measuring a dwelling or other building does not subject the appraiser to following or adhering to USPAP.

J Grant

Elite Member
Professional Status
State
Florida