• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Forum Sponsor - a la mode

Learn more about Titan Reports, our new cloud-based formfiller, SmartExchange, Titan Office, and Titan Drive to see how you can revolutionize your appraisal business.

Efax.com

What's been your experience with efax.com reliability?

  • Have gotten all faxes in a timely manner

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Only 1 or 2 minor problems with late or missing fax

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Occassional problems with late or missing fax

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Frequent problems with late or missing fax

    Votes: 0 0.0%

  • Total voters
    0
Status
Not open for further replies.

TEL2002

Thread Starter
Elite Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Louisiana
Does anyone use efax.com? If so what's, your experience with receiving your faxes via email. Do you get all of them timely. Are there some you don't get. etc. I'm having problems that I'm not sure is efax, my isp, or something else.
 

Mountain Man

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Georgia
I use J-Fax, which E-Fax recently bought out, and LOVE IT!!! For $12.50 per month (cheaper than a dedicated line! :wink: ), I signed up for the premium service. That lets you choose which major metroplitan area you want for a "local" number. The only thing is that the "local" numbers for my area are based in Atlanta, but 99.9% of the faxes I receive are from out of town anyway. Local clients just e-mail me or call and say stop by, we have one.

Haven't had a problem yet. The only faxes that were "lost" were due to the fax machine on the other end, not my fax service.

Unwanted soliciation faxes don't waist my paper anymore, I just delete them from my In Box. :D
 

Bobby Bucks

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2002
Professional Status
Real Estate Agent or Broker
State
North Dakota
I love efax....The only problem I ever had was one day all my faxes were about 3 hours late....but they did still arrive. I would NEVER use a conventional fax again......I now use the paid version....about $10 a month ????? I don't waste paper, ink or time now with junk faxes, I never have to request that someone fax anything a second time, I keep all old fax/emails for about a month before deleting them, I can forward all my faxes to a web based email account when on the road......shall I continue?
 

Rob Bodkin

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Washington
I switched to e-fax about a month ago and LOVE IT!!!!!!

I cancelled the dedicated fax line and use the regular line for outgoing faxes. Perhaps that's next.......

It is awesome, provides proof of delivery and lets me manage what gets printed and what does not. Like when they change a purchase and sale and alter one or two pages I can review the new "fax" and print the changes and not the other 15.

Love it.
 

Jeff Horton

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Alabama
I am going to change the subject a bit in typical Internet fashion. :)

I use my computer as my answering machine and fax all on the same line. Works great. I use callsoft software and I can send and receive faxes. It takes my messages and hangs up on solicitors. One time cost of $30 (or close).

I looked at E-fax and some of the others but this made more sense cost wise. No monthly fee.

Oh, i did have to buy another modem. Mine wouldn't work properly. I bought a cheap Pine Modem they recommended for something like $19? Works perfectly.
 

TEL2002

Thread Starter
Elite Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Louisiana
I did sign up and start using efax about a month ago.

Since, I have sporadically missed getting some faxes. I don't know if it is the senders fault, my isp, my efax account, or what. I like the $11 a month and will get rid of my 2nd business phone line (total cost is near $50 a month) as soon as I'm 100% confident in the system.

One PROBLEM I do have is rather strange. One of my clients sends out computer generated appraisal orders. Their computer just keeps spitting out words until the order is complete...usually about 3 8.5 x 11 pages worth of stuff. However, they do not put any page breaks in their computer message. Efax prints this all on 1 piece of legal size paper. I would say the print font is equal to a 5 or 6. Really small...I have broken out the old magnifying glass several times. I gotta talk to efax about this, maybe they have a solution.
 

Mountain Man

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Georgia
TE, I get the same thing from a certain client. I just cut and paste sections over to Corel Word Perfect to print the pages I need. Other than that, I have the whole fax stored on my computer or backup CD's.
 

Alan Gertner

Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Texas
Like Jeff, I use my computer and a software package as an answering system and fax receiver/sender. The sw is HotFax MessageCenter. I've been running it for years. When an incoming call is answered, it will determine if it is a phone message or fax and record it appropriately. You can listen/view/print them at your leisure. It maintains a Windows like folder structure in which you store your phone and fax messages until deletion. The only limitation is your disk space.

The archived phone messages are great evidence if the need arises.

Total cost for HotFax Message Center sw: $0.
It was free at CompUSA with a rebate.

cheers.
 

Bobby Bucks

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2002
Professional Status
Real Estate Agent or Broker
State
North Dakota
Jeff and Alan....I'm curious about those software packages. I've heard good things about them. I have one which is a bit sneaky made by Cheyenee bitware.....it's on the same line as my outgoing fax and my children's separate phone line....it's a number I give out to borrowers when they ask how to contact me....I never give away business cards to borrowers.....then when they call with all those time consuming threats and questions, they're yelling at the Bucks Ranch voicemail.....is that cool or what? :) back to my question, do those software packages screen telemarketers only or anyone using call block for outgoing calls which many out of state lenders, especially AMC's use. I sometimes go weeks at a time with all calls going into voicemail via call forward, but I'm trying to refine my technique for which calls to answer. Personally I have no qualms anymore with telemarketers....it takes me 2 seconds to say no thanks and hang up without any reason why.....BTW, it's not a good idea to curse those jerks.....one guy I know did and he starting receiving 100 faxes 10 minutes later....ouch!
 

Jeff Horton

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Alabama
Bobby, I am using CallSoft and it is the first one I have found that makes use of caller ID. Basically, you can assign a specific message to a caller ID phone number or name. For example at home most solicitors show up with the name O and the number 000-000-0000. So I added this number (it can recognize caller ID name or phone numbers) and now when 000-000-0000 call they get a SIT tone and a recording of the phone companies error message saying "This line is out of service or has been disconnected". In the 1.5 months since I set that up my solicitor calls at home have dropped to 2 aday at most! I have not gotten one call today and think I got one yesterday. I was getting at least 5 aday. So it has really worked.

At work (different number) I have all 000 numbers set up to receive a message that says:
"You have reached Horton Appraisal and Inspection. Your caller ID information is not available. Therefore we have reason to believe you are a solicitor. We do not accept telephone solicitations. If you are not a solicitor please accept our apology, and leave us a message. we will get back to you as soon as possible."

I do get some unidentified calls that are customers. Usually big out of state lenders. I alway apologize and so far no one has complained. Actually most want to know how I did it! :)

Solicitors are getting smarter though and many now let the caller ID show a number and city. I usually let the machine get it if I don't recognize it. If they call back two or three times and don't leave a message (I can see them in the call log) I then add them to the phone book and assign my solicitor message to them for the next time they call.

The software will also let you record a special message for anyone in you phone book. I have a real short message for lenders I work with that know me well so they don't have to listen to the long message.

Check out call soft. I have should be a salesman for them I love this software so much! :) If you have any questions of need any phone company error recording let me know. I have a of them. Last week all the solicitors calling my house were warned they needed to deposit a quarter to complete their call :lol:

www.toscintl.com/callsoft/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks