• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Electrical oddity question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pittsburg_22_m

Thread Starter
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Kansas
I just inspected a property for a Reverse FHA Mtg and noticed something odd at the inspection. All of the wiring is on the OUTSIDE of the walls, like over the sheetrock. They did this as they wanted to rewire the house without tearing into the walls. The obvious answer is require an electrical inspection. Is there anything else I need to consider here?

And there is no building code in the area and the job obviously wasn't by an electrician (homeowner was proud of it).
 

Calvin the Airedale

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Ohio
I just inspected a property for a Reverse FHA Mtg and noticed something odd at the inspection. All of the wiring is on the OUTSIDE of the walls, like over the sheetrock. They did this as they wanted to rewire the house without tearing into the walls. The obvious answer is require an electrical inspection. Is there anything else I need to consider here?

And there is no building code in the area and the job obviously wasn't by an electrician (homeowner was proud of it).

Does the State of Kansas not have a minimum building code applicable to all un-incorporated areas, as is typical in many states? If so, it likely requires electrical systems to conform with the NEC.
 
Last edited:

Mountain Man

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Georgia
Man people do weird stuff to houses. For building code and safety, any exposed wiring has to be run in conduit... you can't just leave it exposed unprotected. If the power company saw that, they'd yank his meter in a heart beat.
 

incognito

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2005
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Florida
Keep in mind though that FHA DOES NOT require the house to conform to any code. It just has to be safe. If all of the junctions are in junction boxes, and there are no exposed conductors, and the wiring is firmly attached to the walls, I would think it would meet FHA requirements, but I sure would blast it for functional!!!! :)
 

Head Surfer

Administrator
Staff member
Founder
Moderator
Joined
Jan 4, 2002
Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Florida
As MM said I would think it would need to be in conduit for safety!
 

Mountain Man

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Georgia
Keep in mind though that FHA DOES NOT require the house to conform to any code. It just has to be safe. If all of the junctions are in junction boxes, and there are no exposed conductors, and the wiring is firmly attached to the walls, I would think it would meet FHA requirements, but I sure would blast it for functional!!!! :)

But it is a SAFETY and FIRE hazard issue... it's in ICC! When running wires anywhere that they aren't going to be stapled behind the walls, the building inspectors are up our :eek: to make sure it's in conduit. It must be in conduit, or no loan IMNSHO.
 

Mr Rex

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
North Carolina
Just remember that not all "conduit" is a round tube. There are half round surface applied "conduits" etc. that protect the wires and meet NEC. I am wiring my basement with a baseboard raceway and "wiremold", since I don't mind the industrial look of painted concrete block and a slightly more attractive "conduit" than 1/2"+ tube.
 

Couch Potato

Elite Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2004
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
North Carolina
Keep in mind though that FHA DOES NOT require the house to conform to any code. It just has to be safe. If all of the junctions are in junction boxes, and there are no exposed conductors, and the wiring is firmly attached to the walls, I would think it would meet FHA requirements, but I sure would blast it for functional!!!! :)
I disagree that it would meet FHA requirements. Exposed wiring is exposed wiring even when that wiring is insulated. Unless the covering is designed to be outside the wall it would not meet FHA requirements.
 
Last edited:

Mr Rex

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
North Carolina
I disagree that it would meet FHA requirements. Exposed wiring is exposed wiring even when that wiring is insulated. Unless the covering is designed to be outside the wall it would not meet FHA requirements.

While FHA is not so bold as to say specifically and despite what their insider gurus might say they meant to say ....I've been here forver and know what it means etc. Exposed insulated wiring is a safety hazard. FHA leaves way too much to be desired, and it need not be such a mysterious process. Given that they have reduced the requirements on the appraisr side, you would think FHA would sharpen the focus on their side, but no its the typical gov't run fubar program,and we need fubar now more than ever....:shrug:
 

J Stachow

Freshman Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
New York
:nono: UNSAFE, UNSAFE, UNSAFE!! All it takes is for someone/something to unintentionally knock up against the wire and perhaps cut the vinyl casing, exposing the bare wire, and/or shorting out the circuit. Conduit, Wiremold all protect the wire and are code compliant, thus safe for an FHA report. It's true we are not code officers, but probably more like safety officers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks