• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Failed Certified General Exam Twice

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShaynaPunim1984

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
California
Hi Everyone,

This is my first post in the forum. Yesterday I took my Certified General Appraiser licensing exam for the second time and failed by 1 percent...AGAIN. I need a 75 to pass and both times I got a 74. I studied differently the second time, used flashcards, used all the prep recommended to me but man....the second time the test was EVEN HARDER. Here's what I used:

1) Practice Examination Questions for Real Estate Appraisers - from Appraisal Institute
2) Practice questions from the Student Handbook 13th Edition - also from the Appraisal Institute
3) Reviewed all of the practice questions in all of my classes, all of which I took with the Appraisal Institute
4) Used flashcards for formulas and terms
5) Bought compucram...but that was waaaay to basic, only used it for some definitions
6) Read through USPAP twice, including the FAQ section

I felt I understood concepts better this time but those questions are SO poorly written and vague that it is nearly impossible to tell at times what the heck they want from me. I'm open to any prep courses, strategies, coping mechanisms you guys have to offer.

I'm scheduled to take it again August 22nd to give myself a good month to see where things went wrong. Please help. If I get licensed, I get promoted and a raise.

Meandering

Elite Member
Professional Status
Real Estate Agent or Broker
State
Pennsylvania
There are, or were, 4 versions of the test.

When you come out of the test write down every question you remember that give you an issue to answer during the test Then write down all the ones you can remember.

That's your new study guide.