• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

FHA 2055 Drive By

Status
Not open for further replies.

Metroappr

Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Michigan
Hi, I was offered a 2055 FHA drive by for a SFR. The client requests a as-is with an assignment type "Other Asset Valuation. I have never done a drive by 2055 FHA report before. How do you treat items that need repair if you can not see them? The home is still occupied by current owner-I think. It has not gone back to the bank or is on the MLS as for sale. They also stated ""we need a drive by appraisal only. This is for a foreclosure sale"

Do I include non bank owned sales or homes that appear to be similar in condition (based upon ext inspection) or include all bank owned sales? The home is not currently for sale. Any help would be great before I accept this assignment.

Tom D

Gold Supporting Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Pennsylvania
normally they want you to assume it's in c4 condition, but if it's vacant (i have had those) you can get a better idea of interior thru some windows, maybe. assume a c4 in the older range. also, state that you assume the utils are on, things are operating. this house when it becomes a vacant REO will always sell for less than your appraised value. there are exceptions. so use normal sales but i would be conservative.
a REO is a whole different buyer, but i bet that is not the value they want. be sure you word the purpose of the appraisal correctly. usually it's 'for internal use only, not for a mortgage".

Elliott

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Oregon
I'd suggest make it clear how this FHA 2055 differs from a FHA 1004 and would indicate how many of FHA 4000.1 requirements are not applicable.

Mike Garrett RAA

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member