• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Geo competency question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pamela Crowley (Florida)

Elite Member
Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Florida
Can a residential appraiser claim geo competency in service all 5 NYC boroughs and Long Island? Theoretical and opinions....

James Micozzi

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
New York
Can a residential appraiser claim geo competency in service all 5 NYC boroughs and Long Island? Theoretical and opinions....

Can a residential appraiser claim... sure, just like I can claim that I am a brain surgeon :laugh:

Seriously, I know that quite a few of my fellow Long Island members are geo competent in the five boroughs and Long Island. Of course, they have been appraising since the days when you wrote a report with a hammer & chisel in a stone tablet..LOL

speaking solely for myself, I am comfortable performing assignment in the five boroughs as well as Nassau and the Western Half of Suffolk county. the east end is it's own world so to speak.

Mike Kennedy

Elite Member
Professional Status
State
New York
Consider the Boroughs comparable to adjacent counties; consider Nassau & Suffolk as two more (adjacent to then one county east from Queens).

Specific Northshore, Southshore, and Easternmost Suffolk nuances require specific local expertise. Da Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Staten Island, for the most part, are fairly homogenous - each claiming to be "Da Best!" while retaining much of their "old world big city mentalities" as they were independent cities or "metros" prior to being merged into NYC. Manhattan (like Eastern Long Island) requires significant local expertise as well as personal relationships with key "insider" data sources.

Can they all be covered by an individual Appraiser - yes.

Are they - yes.