• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Forum Sponsor - a la mode

Learn more about Titan Reports, our new cloud-based formfiller, SmartExchange, Titan Office, and Titan Drive to see how you can revolutionize your appraisal business.

How to convert inches to tenths? Apex

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jbridered

Thread Starter
Freshman Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2007
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Louisiana
How do you convert inches to tenths using apex medina? I am new to apex and this would save me some time when sketching blueprints. Thanks in advance for any help.
 

Wendy

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2004
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Florida
I just have a conversion chart taped to the side of my monitor and change them as I draw. Very high tech.

Or, get a measure that is ruled in tenths to use in the field.
 

Susan Klimaszewski

Junior Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2003
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Texas
You use the tab key in my version (1.41). If the measurement in feet is 12' 8" then you go 12, tab, 8, tab, then the arrow key in the direction you want to go and then hit enter.
 
Last edited:

David Beasley

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2003
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
North Carolina
I just have a conversion chart taped to the side of my monitor and change them as I draw. Very high tech.

Or, get a measure that is ruled in tenths to use in the field.

My mentor (my stepfather) used this very same high tech technique! lol He had worked out the inches to tenths from 1" to 11" on a note pad and went by that for a year or so after going to computer sketching ('91 maybe?) before he finally got a decimal tape. I've used a decimal tape - it actually indicates 10ths and 100ths - ever sense. Well, that and a Disto together since the Disto came out.
 

Randall Garrett

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2004
Professional Status
IT Professional-Appraisal Related
State
Texas
James:

Seems like I have answered this question a thousand times. LOL. FWIW, Robert has a video scripted on this and we'll be putting it up soon. Once it is out, you can download it (and all the other tutorial/Help videos) and load them into Apex so you can view them from within the program. Of course, they will be on the web site as well, but it's always faster when you can run something "local" vs. "streaming"...

Anyway I am pasting in the text response I did on a recent question on this very topic. I've modified it to fit somewhat, but please excuse any awkward grammar coming from a "paste" vs. a complete re-write.

If this doesn't help, I suggest attending a Webinar on Medina and if it is not covered fully enough for you, ask Brian (or whomever does the webinar) for some extra instruction at the end, during the Q&A.

The feet/inches/fractions thing in Apex really comes from the whole "take off" aspect of working from Plans & Specs... I used to do a lot of that back "in the day" when I was appraising. Anyway, sometimes what we do and why doesn't make sense to new appraisers or those who have never done take off from Plans & Spec, but once you do it some, you'll begin to see why, etc.

As it is, the way to enter in feet/inches/fraction is simply a matter of changing the way you enter in the dimensions. You obviously already know how to enter dimensions in the preferred decimal format but doing feet & inches (and fractions), while slightly different, is consistent with what you are doing now.

--------------- snip from previous post --------------

To (enter in feet/inches), you simply substitute either the [Tab] key or the ['] key for the decimal point [.] The use of the [Tab] key as an alternate was selected because it is large and easy to hit, but you can use the "tick mark" or apostrophe ['] key if you wish.

To draw a line 6.5 feet to the right, you would enter:
[6] [.] [5] [Right Arrow] [Enter]

To draw 6' 6" to the right, you would enter:
[6] [Tab] [6] [Right Arrow] [Enter]
-or-
[6] ['] [6] [Right Arrow] [Enter]

To draw 6' 6½" to the right, you would enter:
[6] [Tab] [6] [Tab] [1] [/] [2] [Right Arrow] [Enter]

Obviously, 6.5' is the same as 6' 6". Using either method of input, the decimal equivalent will be posted, not the feet and inches. This is done on purpose so that the dimensions posted to the sketch will match up with the area breakdown calculations. Some folks initially thought this to be undesirable (a defect), but once the explanation is made, they quickly see the reason this is the way it works. When you are doing "take off" from plans and specs, you would typically convert the feet, inches and fractions to decimal equivalent so that you could do the area calculations. As you probably know, you cannot simply multiply (say) 6' 6" by 10' 3" without converting them to decimal equivalent first. Most reviewers of appraisal reports are unlikely to realize this so if your sketch has walls showing feet/inches (say) 6' 6", 10' 3", etc., they might notice the breakdown shows 6.5 x 10.3 and think it is an error, thus questioning your calculations and perhaps calling for a review... You obviously don't want that and/or to have to spend the time educating people like this. What's the point? Hence, we just do the conversion on the fly and post the decimal equivalent as is proper IMHO. You CAN select the dimensions and change them to feet & inches but we do NOT recommend this for the reasons mentioned above.

You will also find that the default input method allows for "dimension stacking" which is quite handy when working from plans & specs. Many times, the plans do not give you the exact wall length(s) you need to get your area calculations. That is, the plans will show multiple dimensions which you must add together to get a combined wall length. For example, the plans may show several dimensions such as the veneer, inside wall to interior partition, wall thickness, then another length - all of which you need to add together to get the wall length YOU need for measurement/area calculations as per the regs for appraising (not construction, which is what the plans are for.) Using the example above, you need to add together the (say) 7¾" veneer and air gap, 8' 9¼" wall, plus another 11' 2" to draw the wall length you need. To do this, enter:

7 [Tab] 3/4
8 [Tab] 9 [Tab] 1/4
11 [Tab] 2
[Enter]

and you'll see the wall "build" to the cumulative length needed. Pressing [Enter] is what tells Apex you are finished adding or subtracting lengths.

Sometimes the dimensions shown on the plans give you a line that is too long and you need to subtract a dimension or two only shown on (say) the other side of the structure. No problem! Using the example above, let's say that the line "built" is too long by the amount shown down below - say the 2' 7" depth of a closet - and you need to subtract that amount before hitting [Enter]. To do this, you would enter:

7 [Tab] 3/4
8 [Tab] 9 [Tab] 1/4
11 [Tab] 2
2 [Tab] 7
[Enter]

Hope this helps! Let me know if you need any additional information. I am going to add this topic to the list of video tutorials we are doing for Apex Medina v4.1+. While the interface shown will be the new one, the techniques are the same so you might want to check our web site later this month to see if there is one for "Architectural Input", "Working from Plans and Specs" or something similar.

---------- end of snip -----------

As I mentioned, Robert says he has a video scripted and it should be available on our web site later this month. If what I have written doesn't help enough and you need to see this working on-screen, I'd suggest attending a Webinar and asking to be shown an example or simply calling Tech support and getting them to show you how to do it by "remote control" where they can display their screen on yours or actually control your screen to draw/illustrate on your screen.

Hope this Helps!

...​
 

Jbridered

Thread Starter
Freshman Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2007
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Louisiana
convert

Okay thats simple. Just one more thing and I will try and leave you alone. Could you post a list of quick keys for medina 4.1. I didnt see where you can download a user manual for 4.1. Thanks for your help.
 

Randall Garrett

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2004
Professional Status
IT Professional-Appraisal Related
State
Texas
James:

For right now, go to: http://www.apexwin.com/v5/download/medina.php

At the bottom of that page is the download link for the Apex Medina v4.0 user guide.

Pages 183 - 183 have the shortcut keys on them.

As you see, they are spread out over 4 pages. I believe Robert did that because I kept harping on him about us all getting older and I wanted him to quit making things too small to read, LOL.

The official user guide for v4.1 should be included in the next update... :) Docs like this are never perfect - they are always a bit behind since I am always adding something or another to the program. Still, we know that we've been remiss in not releasing a better user guide for v4.1. I've reviewed a draft and have always tended to nit-pick it, thus delaying it. Anyway, we're going to push it out in the next update, I believe.

I'll see if Robert can/will rip out the shortcut keys for v4.1 into a separate PDF file and post it to the web site before the weekend... I see from looking at the draft again while typing this, that they are still spread out over 4 pages. If we make a separate PDF for the shortcut keys - something to print out put up on the wall or something, I might have to boil it down to the most common items and still make it legal length. We used to sell mouse pads with the shortcut keys on them, but I think that stopped with either v3 or v4.0

Hope this helps!

(BTW, I have an enhancement planned for Apex Medina which involves shortcut type things, but I'll post on that when it is close to release. With the change to the UI done in v4.1, we found that more people are scrolling with the mouse vs. memorizing shortcut keys. Still power user types miss the keyboard-centric stuff and have been asking for more attention to be paid to the shortcuts, so an enhancement is in the works.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks