• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

How To Price A Waterfront Home?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yourmasshome

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Real Estate Agent or Broker
State
Massachusetts
Hello everyone I am a real estate agent. I am looking to price a waterfront home on a lake where homes almost never go up for sale. There are no comps in town and in surrounding towns and struggling with how to price this home. Any advice or suggestions?

Last edited:

Michigan CG

Staff member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Michigan
What would the home be worth if it wasn't on the lake?

Any sales of vacant land on the lake?

Yourmasshome

Freshman Member
Professional Status
State
Massachusetts
What would the home be worth if it wasn't on the lake?

Any sales of vacant land on the lake?

Well, it's a 2 bedroom and the most expensive 2 bedroom that sold within 10 miles that was with 200 sq. ft of this house was for $400k, so around there for an non-waterfront property. It's updated and very modern on the interior.

Some other data:
Homeowner attempted to sell in 2008 for $650,000 - Expired
Homeowner attempted to sell in 2013 for $560,000 - Expired

Zillow has it at $570 and Realtor.com $471,000.

As far as the land 2 waterfront lots were sold for low low $200's.

Does this help??

JTip

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Pennsylvania
Homeowner attempted to sell in 2013 for $560,000 - Expired

Sounds like the ceiling to me.....

Did you check landvest for any active waterfront listings?

Michigander

Professional Status
State
Michigan
Is the lake so unique that there are no lakes that actively compete with it? Since you have lake front lot sales (it seems), were they on the same lake?