• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Forum Sponsor - a la mode

Learn more about Titan Reports, our new cloud-based formfiller, SmartExchange, Titan Office, and Titan Drive to see how you can revolutionize your appraisal business.

MCS Users--HELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jim Payne (SD)

Thread Starter
Sophomore Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2002
Please Help Me! 8O

I have a new Canon ir1600-2000 Imagerunner Printer/Copier and it was up and running for 5 days and now when I print out an MCS Form, the Form Format is all small up/down rectangular boxes (where the Form Wording should be).

Any Suggestions? :?

PDS and I have been on the phone a couple of times this week and after they sent me new Fonts to install and after re-installing the software--the same thing comes up in BOTH the Canon and my HP895 Printer.

Thanks Forumites for all Your Help!

Jim Payne (SD) :)
 

Jim Payne (SD)

Thread Starter
Sophomore Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2002
As of yesterday evening, it's in the PDS Programers' Hands...

Jim Payne (SD) :)
<span style='color:red'>"Just A Payne"</span>
 

Farm Gal

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Nebraska
e-yew...

Jim: can you email your files in ANY format to another person/machine?
If your clients aren't local I'll print em and box em for you if you will foot the airbills!
 

Ted Martin

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Kansas
As a temporary fix can you print to an Adobe PDF file and then print from Adobe?
 

Ken in Arkansas

Junior Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Arkansas
Jim -

This may or may not relate to your problem, but I bought an Epson a few weeks ago. All went well until suddenly it started printing partial pictures, fonts screwed up, lines misaligned, etc. My computer genius son asked a simple question - Are you trying to print a legal-sized doc on letter-sized paper? Yep, I was. Just simply have to watch the paper size, and all is well.
 

Jim Payne (SD)

Thread Starter
Sophomore Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2002
Ken:

I was just trying to print a Legal Page on a Legal Page and a Letter Page on a Letter Page... Both to no avail...

Lee Ann suggested that I re-install my Printer-Drivers, so I will do that on Monday with my Canon Repr's Help... I'm not too savvy on Computers...just know what I want out of them...

I'll let you know on Monday on how I'm doing...

Jim Payne (SD)
:D
<span style='color:red'>"Just A Payne"</span>
 

Jeff Horton

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Alabama
PDS and I have been on the phone a couple of times this week and after they sent me new Fonts to install and after re-installing the software--the same thing comes up in BOTH the Canon and my HP895 Printer.

This is one of those really useless answers but if both printers are doing the same then is sounds like the computer is the problem. Its sending corrupt data to the printers. I don't see both printers doing the same thing. So your computer has to be sending bad data to the printers.
 

graindart

Junior Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Montana
.....or possibly the connection between the printer and computer. Have you checked the printer cable closely? Unplug both ends, look for bent pins, reattach firmly, check cable run for large kink/indention or cut. You might want to open up your computer case (if it's a desktop), and make sure that the printer port / card is fully seated, and hasn't just wiggled loose. Just some thoughts on what to check; 9 out of 10 times it's usually software, but who knows.
 

Erika Boucher

Freshman Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Hi Jim,

Your post/problem is kinda old, but I really feel for you, how frustrating, and thought I'd try to help, if you have not solved the problem by now. I also use MCS, but chances are MCS is not your problem. Loading these new super woopie printers can be tricky and following the proper loading instructs is critical. (I assume that you are not installing the printer on a network, but on a stand alone PC). First off, disconnect the printer from the PC and unplug it. Uninstall your printer, using the printers uninstall program, (You will find this on the start menu, programs, go to the printer, and find the icon that says uninstall) and then reboot your PC. After reboot, if you see any residule files or the printers icon is still left, than uninstall again, if possible, use a utility program that gets rid of all files. NOTE-DO NOT DELETE the printer files yourself using the DELETE features of windows. Deleteing files is not the same as uninstalling files! Plug the printer into a power source but do not turn it on. Are you using a USB cable to connect the printer or a traditional pin cable? If you are using a pin cable, you may connect the cable before you load the software. If USB than wait-DO NOT connect the printer yet. You must wait until the software is loaded. The software will walk you through the proper procedure of when to connect the cable and when to turn the printer on. The proper order of steps are different for the newer printers and very important. You see, first you will load the software and than the software will install, configure, and establish communication with the printer. This is a two step procedure. Repeat these steps until all is right. :D Good luck. Erika
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks