• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Forum Sponsor - a la mode

QuickSource provides a single-source solution to easily import, compare, and manage data from multiple, credible sources in every report. See what the next game-changer is really all about.

Medina integration with ACI Report

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dave Smith

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Wisconsin
I have Medina integrated with Report. When I open Medina from within a report and then close out Medina, with the sketch going on to a "Floorplan" page in the report, I end up with five pages with the Floorplan heading even though my sketch is only one page in size.

Is this an ACI setting or is it a Medina setting or is it a bug?

When I print a report I can de-select the extra pages but I can't do so if I am printing a PDF. I end up with five Floorplan pages in the PDF and then have do delete the unwanted pages from the PDF.

Dave
 

Randall Garrett

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2004
Professional Status
IT Professional-Appraisal Related
State
Texas
Dave:

I've never heard of this situation before, but I'll get with our support folks and see if I can find out the answer for you.

In the interim, please let me know your Apex Medina version number (and date) found by selecting the "About" icon in the Help menu.

Also, while in Apex Medina, you could check the Page Indicator and/or select Print Preview to see how many pages are in the actual sketch. As far as I know, Apex only "sends" back the number of pages actually in the sketch file - there is no pre-set number of pages. If there is only one page showing in Apex Medina, I would suspect that the extra pages is either an ACI setting or the problem is happening in the integration side of things (?)

Hope this helps!

-Randall Garrett-
..Apex Software..
 
Last edited:

Dave Smith

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Wisconsin
Randall:

My version is 4.1.1818.1.

My response from Andy at ACI about the problem is as follows:

Hello Dave,

ACI'sFloorplan/Sketch page has always included the tabs at the bottom to support up to six sketch pages, depending on whether the sketching software utilized more than one page, and thus would attempt to export more than one page back into ACI. So while it looks like five extra pages, they do not normally show up on printouts or PDF files unless the Print Empty Pages checkbox is checked, or if you select the Details on the Print and Print PDF page selection and check the empty Sketch pages.
Both the Print and Print PDF page selection screens are identical and you should be able to Deselect sketch pages (especially empty ones!) so you don't have to do so afterwards in Adobe.

As for your
Floorplan vs Sketch terminology, we don't have a plain Sketch page (all say
Floorplan at the top) but you can copy a sketch image to an Extra Image Page which allows you to type your own title at the top of the page.

If this doesn't apply or if you'd like to chat about it over the phone, I'm game!

Andy
 

Randall Garrett

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2004
Professional Status
IT Professional-Appraisal Related
State
Texas
Dave:

If I read your reply correctly, you found that the problem originated from a setting in ACI's software, not Apex Medina or the integration and that with their help, you now have the issue resolved (?) If not, let me know and I'll see what I can do to help. There may be a slight delay as I am not in the office and my access to phone and Internet is intermittent.

-Randall Garrett-
..Apex Software..
 

Dave Smith

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Wisconsin
Randall:

Thank you for the follow up. Yes, it is an ACI setting that automatically places five pages in the report when a sketch is imported from Medina. The excess pages can be unselected before printing a report to a printer or to a PDF. However, I never will use five pages so it would be nice to have a choice as to how many pages I start with... but that is an ACI issue.

Dave
 

Rufus

Junior Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Indiana
I have no idea if this is similar, but in WinTotal, you can delete any extra pages and then when you select 'all' for printing or PDFing they just aren't there. Apex & WinTotal don't add any extras, but I sometimes make my own second sketch page for other calculations such as verifiying lot size or such and then just deltete it from the WinTotal pages.
 

Randall Garrett

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2004
Professional Status
IT Professional-Appraisal Related
State
Texas
Dave:

You SHOULD be able to just add or delete sketch pages within Apex. When we send the sketch pages back during integration, ACI is supposed to add them if needed. Hence, you should not need to preset the number of pages in most cases, I believe... :)

Hope this helps!

-Randall Garrett-
..Apex Software..
 

Dave Smith

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Wisconsin
Randall:

Please go to

http://www.aciweb.com/forums/p/233/275.aspx#275

and read the response from Andy about the page situation. ACI apparently has the "sketch" page insert set up to automatically add five sketch pages to a report.

I am aware that I can add a page to a sketch in Medina but I still get five pages in an ACI report when I integrate the sketch with a report.

You can also read my response to Andy's "work around" suggestions. I would hope that Apex and
ACI can do better than a "work around" for this situation.

Dave
 

Randall Garrett

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2004
Professional Status
IT Professional-Appraisal Related
State
Texas
Dave:

Thanks for the link. I read there that the issue you are having is strictly within ACI's control. As I mentioned, Apex only sends back the number of pages you create, nothing more. I believe that the static creation of 5 pages within ACI's program is a hold-over from supporting an older sketch program, but it is not an Apex requirement. In any case, there is nothing Apex can do to change the way ACI adds the extra pages.

Sorry I could not be of more help. If this was controlled from a setting in Apex, we could change it...

-Randall Garrett-
..Apex Software..
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks