• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Problems with online education

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat Butler

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Illinois
Talk about frustrating. I took McKissock's online course for relo appraisals. I've been doing them for 25 years and am a CRP. I missed way too many questions and actually called them up.

There are A LOT of mistakes in their exams. Some of their answers are just plain wrong- and other answers match their course material identically- yet you'll still be graded as if though you missed the question!

Worse yet, when you get the wrong answers on the chapter exams you'll get a dialog box that pops up that has a hyperlink back to the appropriate page that has the related content. All of those hyperlinks pointed to the SAME PAGE! Yep, page one of chapter one. So there was no easy way to filter through the 150+ pages of instruction.

So today I signed up for an AI online course. Problems again. I get to the end of the first chapter and the pop-up quiz won't work. I called up their tech support and the young guy there was very useless. He tells me to install Firefox, so I did that. He tells me to use another computer- so I tried it on 4 other computers that I own- different brands & different versions of software. Still won't work. He gives up right away and says that everything works on his end. Duh, he's working right from the server. This guy isn't even interested in the error messages that I get at the bottom of my browser. He just made up his mind that it must be my problem. Yeah right- all four of my computers have the same problem, including my brand new laptop.