• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Question about seeking a sponsor for provisional license...

Status
Not open for further replies.

SamanthaMarella

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Real Estate Agent or Broker
State
Connecticut
Hello! I am a licensed real estate broker in CT & NY and I am very interested in getting involved on the appraisal side of things. I am planning to take all of the necessary courses to obtain a provisional license in the coming weeks. Is it better to have those done prior to identifying a sponsor (I'm assuming), or should I wait until I have a sponsor lined up to begin? Also, do we know of any agencies in CT where there might be appraisers who have "raised their hands" to offer sponsorship for new appraisers? Any suggestions for getting in contact with someone who would be willing? I do find it a bit strange that the state requires this apprenticeship but there doesn't seem to be any formal resource for getting set up with one. Any suggestions or contacts would be greatly appreciated!

This is a very poor time to seek becoming a licensed appraiser....
Not enough appraisal volume to provide a trainee with sufficient appraisal work....
Unless trainees are allowed to perform "practice" appraisals, meaning appraising homes of friends/family/neighbors/etc. that can count for hours....
Good luck....