• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Roof Disclosure Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Queen Bee

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Colorado
I have an order for a puchase with a conventional loan. The home is vacant and when I arrived at the home to do the inspection, a gentleman from a roofing company was there inspecting the roof at the request of the buyer. It was a two story home and from what I could see it did not appear to be in bad shape at all (ofcourse I am not a roofing expert). I asked him what he thought of the condition of the roof and he said that it was not in good shape and needs to be replaced. Since I would not have known that it was not in good shape based on what I could see of it, do I need to mention this in my report because the roofer did indicate that in his opinion it needs to be replaced? Also, should I make a condition adjustment for the roof?

Mztk1

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Florida
You are a reporter. And as such you are supposed to collect all the data you can and report what you find. You happened to be able to interview a roofer who inspected the roof on the day you did your inspection. What could be better than that? Certainly not how it appeared to you. In a worse case scenario, if you omit what was told you might be held liable for an error of omission.

I would state it in the report but also state you are not qualified as a roofer, do not know if the roofing inspection was complete at the time of your interview, and that you are making an extraordinary assumption that the roof has 2 years remaining economic life and that the report is subject to an inspection by a qualified roof inspector.