• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Roof Opinions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kitarkus

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Kansas
Just looking to gather some opinions from VA Panel Appraisers on roof condition. See photos at this link....stained, curling, a couple of missing shingles. Roof is clearly aged and weathered. No signs of water infiltration was observed at the interior (recently painted by a flipper).

In my opinion....a roof with this appearance has limited remaining economic life. I am dubious as to whether 'repairs' at a few particularly curling or missing shingles will solve this roofing dilemma. I am fairly new to the VA Panel, but as I read the manual I think this might call for a roof replacement to meet MPR's. As a neophyte....I'm unaccustomed to requiring repairs/replacements rather than inspections......so....

Please let me know what you would say in your MPR's for a roof like this one:

https://www.flickr.com/gp/[email protected]/S36h47

Last edited:

timd354

Elite Member
Professional Status
State
Maryland
Just looking to gather some opinions from VA Panel Appraisers on roof condition. See photos at this link....stained, curling, a new missing areas. Roof is clearly aged and weathered. No signs of water infiltration was observed at the interior (recently painted by a flipper).

In my opinion....a roof with this appearance has limited remaining economic life.

Please let me know what you would say in your MPR's for a roof like this one:

https://www.flickr.com/gp/[email protected]/S36h47