• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Smoke And Co Detectors

Status
Not open for further replies.

NJ Valuator

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
New Jersey
AMC states that appraiser is required to test for FHA since it is a health and safety issue.
 

GA Benny

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Georgia
So test it. What's the problem?

The FHA handbook does not specifically require smoke or CO detectors, but it is left up to the opinions of the appraiser, and ultimately the mortgagee, to determine if the property meets MPRs, including health and safety. There is certainly nothing that prohibits testing the smoke and CO detectors, whether technically required or not.
 

Mr Rex

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
North Carolina
The Appraiser must observe the physical condition of the plumbing, heating and electrical systems. The Appraiser must operate the applicable systems and observe their performance. If the systems appear to be damaged or do not appear to function properly, the Appraiser must condition the appraisal for repair or further inspection.
 

A Brit in California

Senior Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
California
Please explain how "testing the functionality of a smoke or carbon monoxide alarm" contributes to the appraiser's opinion of value (for which he/she is trained and was hired to perform)? Oh wait....a $20 non-functioning carbon monoxide alarm could be adjusted for in the grids. (sarcasm). An appraiser should not be doing the job description of a home inspector and vice-versa.
 

Tom D

Senior Member
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
May 22, 2015
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Pennsylvania
how do you test a carbon monoxide detector? they always work when i was there on a refi, except when there aren't the required amount. most of the time on sales, one of them is missing, nice $150 fee for a $30 multi detector required by city 'health department'. realtors used to give the buyer the new detectors at settlement. always find it funny when the agent tells me they didn't know where their placements should be.
 

A Brit in California

Senior Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
California
how do you test a carbon monoxide detector? they always work when i was there on a refi, except when there aren't the required amount. most of the time on sales, one of them is missing, nice $150 fee for a $30 multi detector required by city 'health department'. realtors used to give the buyer the new detectors at settlement. always find it funny when the agent tells me they didn't know where their placements should be.
And if an appraiser does test the carbon and/or smoke alarms and the house burns down or the occupants die from carbon monoxide poisoning.....guess who gets a lawsuit against them? Appraisers should not be required to test these devices.
 

glenn walker

Elite Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
California
This is such a old conversation on the forum -- Depending on State ( CALIFORNIA ) push the test button and if it-beeps you have a good batteries... That is all you can do !
 

AMF13

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
California
Yes, the sky fell years ago. :leeann:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks