• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Splits.....

Status
Not open for further replies.

patmccabe

Freshman Member
First of all, I just want to say hello. I recently found this board, and it appears to be a great source of information.

I know this topic has been talked about before, so I am sorry if this is repetitive, but I was not able to find what I am looking for by using the search function.

Anyways, I am not sure if this is the right spot for this post or not, but I thought it was a safe place to start.

I was wondering what some of you thought a fair/market split would be for a somewhat experienced commercial appraiser. Here are a few details:

1. I have been appraising commercial property for four years (don't know if that gets me out of the noob range yet or not....haha).

2. I graduated college with a major in real estate. In other words, all the required classroom time to satisfy the state requirements has been completed. I have also completed the required work related experience to satisfy the requirements to qualify to be a certified general appraiser. I just need to take the state test (I know I have been remiss in doing this, but the way things are currently set up, there was no real incentive for me to get it done quickly). However, at this point in time, I am highly motivated to (finally) take the test and get it done with.

3. I have taken several Appraisal Institute courses.

4. I have appraised, and have experience with, a wide variety of commercial property types including (special purpose properties, institutional properties, industrial, retail, office, mixed use, etc.). I am very familiar with, and competent, using income analysis software (ARGUS), as well as the typical computer programs (excel, word, etc.).