• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Forum Sponsor - a la mode

Learn more about Titan Reports, our new cloud-based formfiller, SmartExchange, Titan Office, and Titan Drive to see how you can revolutionize your appraisal business.

Steps to run monitor in portrait mode?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BlueDog007

Thread Starter
Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
South Carolina
I bought a monitor stand today in order to turn my 22" portrait. How do I change the settings on the computer though? Thanks in advance!
 

Couch Potato

Elite Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2004
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
North Carolina
You also need software to support the turning of the monitor. Some video cards and monitors have drivers that do it naturally, but others require additional software like Pivot®.
 
Last edited:

Randall Garrett

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2004
Professional Status
IT Professional-Appraisal Related
State
Texas
Ric:

Your computer has that nVidia card, right? You should have loaded the drivers for it... If so, there may be a little icon in your task bar for nVidia Control or similar. Selecting that should give you a menu where you can change various things like orientation. (I think it is called NVRotate)

[Edit 1] Here is a link to the site describing the feature. Maybe they will have some help docs on how to access the software control if you don't see it in your task bar. BTW, I recommend the latest ForceWare drivers - v169.28. Here is the link for NVRotate: http://www.nvidia.com/object/feature_nvrotate.html

Failing that, you should be able to right click on your desktop and get to the Display properties settings. Depending on which OS you have (WinXP or Vista) there are slightly different steps, but you should be able to navigate around and find the tabs for your GeForce card... might be under an [Advanced Settings] button (?) Anyway, under the tab for your card, you should see an nVidia control panel or at least an [Additional Properties] button... Poke around until you find the rotate command.

[Edit 2] Just in case you have difficulty, here is a link to a forum topic which has some screen shots, etc. It is relatively current, but if I remember your situation, your card is a newer generation than the one covered in this link, but it is similar enough that it should get you there... :) http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=101188

Some monitors come with drivers which automatically trigger a rotate command, but I always found them to be flaky. Once you settle in on rotated or not notated, most people rarely switch back and forth, so I always used the task bar icon or right clicked to change. It is a bit disorienting, though, when the monitor is already rotated, so find the setting / command / button thing before you rotate the monitor, select it, THEN rotate the monitor.

Hope this helps!
...
 
Last edited:

BlueDog007

Thread Starter
Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
South Carolina
I figured it out. I needed to go to the video card section to make adjustments! Thanks for your help!
 

KD247

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
California
How's it working out? Do you like having a large monitor in portrait orientation?
 

OSU Beavers

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2007
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Oregon
I'm still running my 22" LCD in landscape until I get a VESA arm to attach to my desk. Which VESA mount did you get, or do you have a cool rotating stand?
 

BlueDog007

Thread Starter
Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
South Carolina
OSU-

I bought one (Ergonotrics..sp???) at Staples for $50.00. It worked great and did fit a 22". The box says it only goes to 20", but that's incorrect. It worked with my Samsung 226BW. I honestly didn't like the portrait view. Probably because of the 22" monitor vs. a 19" though. I felt like I was pushing my mouse so far up just to get to the top of the report. I have my ACI set at 150%, so I can see 1/2 of the page anyway. I only have to hit page down 1 time to get to the 2nd half of the page. And for the comp page, it's not all "squeezed" in while in landscape view. Just my 2 cents!
 

BlueDog007

Thread Starter
Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
South Carolina
KD247-

I didn't like the 22" in portrait. I turned it back to landscape and love the dual 22". It's awesome. I think the 22" is too big for portrait IMO.
 

KD247

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
California
KD247-I think the 22" is too big for portrait IMO.

That's what I was wondering. When I tried, I noticed that my mouse's comfortable range of motion is pretty wide horizontally but limited vertically. I just wish I had some work to do on these big beautiful monitors!
 

BlueDog007

Thread Starter
Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
South Carolina
Me too. I am staying busy, but not busy enough. I bought my dual monitors around Christmas and LOVE them. Far more efficient with these than before. Now, I don't have enough work to be efficient. Before, I had too much work and no time to look into dual monitors. It's funny how things work out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks