• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Forum Sponsor - a la mode

Learn more about Titan Reports, our new cloud-based formfiller, SmartExchange, Titan Office, and Titan Drive to see how you can revolutionize your appraisal business.

Time for a new computer, need advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Roger R. Patzold

Thread Starter
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Virginia
It's that time again. The 4 year old computer is too slow and dated.

I use Windows 98 currently, MCS Version 8(32 bit) AOL, Map Pro & Delorme St Atlas, MS Works Suites, PC Anywhere, Quick Books Pro, and Turbo Tax

Printers are currently HP4P & Epson 800.
When I upgrade I will probably go to HP2200 or HP4500 series. I like the lazer but it seems to be slow on the color prints.

Any suggestions, comments, advice, etc will be greatly appreciated.

I will have an IBM generic built by the same person who has built my last two PC's. He is local and provides good support.

I plan to go with the following unless I receive suggestions that change my mind.

Hard Drive--20 to 40 gig @ 450 RPS or more

Speed--1 gig for

RAM 650 mhz

Modem-US Robotics

CDR & CDW

USB ports--at least 4

Monitor--17" full color

Sound--Whatever Earl reccomends

Software Operating System will be Windows 98 or 2000 XP, I don't know if the software will work on 2000XP yet.

Roger R. Patzold
Cleveland, Texas
281)592-0582
[email protected]

Thanks to everyone for all the good suggestions I know I will get from forum members.

God bless America and all our people who are going in harm's way.

:D
 

Mountain Man

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Georgia
I too use a local computer guy to build my systems. I like the support and not having a bunch of package programs pre-loaded that I don't want. Much of that pre-loaded garbage just reserves or uses up valuable resources.

You have got a pretty good list there. If there is not much of a price difference between a 20 or a 40 gig hard drive, I would want a 40. Most of my appraisal programs (as well as Windows) are only getting bigger. Those photos take a lot of room as well. You don't mention any thing about the heart of the system, mother board. My computer dude only installs Asus. It is one of the best and is one of the few that is upgradable. Just don't buy the cheapest, or you may crash every hour on the hour.

Mell.
 

David S. Roberson

Senior Member
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Tennessee
Roger;

I just started using my new computer two days ago and I love it! It's a Hewlit-Packard Pavilion 750n, has 80 gig hard drive, and a bunch of other stuff I don't even know about. It costs about $1,000. The moniter is an Envision flat screen (17"0 and costs about $300. Check it out at Syaples.
 

xmrdfghap

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
General Public
State
Florida
You didn't mention price, but if price was not an issue, I would do the fastest CPU you can afford. Any CPU purchased today will be out of production in 18 months anyway, but why have a 1 gig when you can have a 2 gig and extend the life of your system an extra two years.

Get as much ram on board as possible......it will allow a multitask system to work so much easier.

Go with the 80 gig HD. Just like file cabinets you canot have too much storage.

sound system and such, you get what you pay for.......personally, if I want music I have a good stereo system, and Toolbox doesn't use much sound sophistication............yet. :lol:

get a dsl connectin or cable modem......make sure you get a good firewall.....ask your tech if you should have a second hard drive to connect with the internet and your primary HD NOT shared with the net.

good luck with your system.
 

TC

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Pennsylvania
Buy as much disk space as you can afford, then borrow some money and get more. Advice from a good computer nerd buddy of mine. Definitely go with XP, I have had no problems with it since I purchased a Sony 1 month ago.

tc
 

Mike Garrett RAA

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Colorado
Bigger than big, faster than fast, cable modem, LCD monitor, CD burner, that about covers it.

I just purchased a Microtek LCD 17 at Office Depot for $599 and there is a $50 rebate. A full 17" viewable...very nice
 

Nancy in Friday Harbor

Junior Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Washington
Software Operating System will be Windows 98 or 2000 XP, I don't know if the software will work on 2000XP yet.

Hi Roger,

I got my new puter about two weeks ago........ yours sounds good and I like all the advice from folks.

All I can add is to go to the websites for all your peripherals that you plan to use/currently use. Make sure that there are drivers for these items that will work with XP -- if that's the route you go. I'm struggling along with two HP printers, neither of which are very old, that don't have XP driver support or only partial support (the printer on the HP1100 works, but the copy/scan feature doesn't). The Microtek scanner is cranky working under XP, etc. Overall, I have mixed feelings about XP. I like that it doesn't crash, but sometimes it takes charge and won't let go of stuff. And for heavens sake, if there's a software problem, don't ever respond YES if it asks whether or not to report that problem to Microsoft. You'll never get out of that spiral!! Have one friend who uninstalled XP and went back to 98SE for that very reason.

I got a Dell with 1.6GB?P4 and 512MB RAM -- the next week they advertised the same machine with 1.2GB RAM!!!! Get as much as you can.

Nancy
 

Lee in L.A.

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
California
Get the best system you can afford. And if you do much on line (I do all my research online, and send appraisal on line), for sure get a cable modem or DSL, it's worth its cost in waiting time saved.
 

Kathy in FL

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Florida
My best advice based entirely upon my personal experience is:

Don't buy the cheap Gateway advertised on TV. This POS hasn't worked correctly since day one and their customer service is a joke.

Kathy in FL
 

Paul in bama

Freshman Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2002
I built the last 3 systems for my office and I can tell you that Asus motherboards are the best right now, that is, assuming you are going with a pentium processor. I did alot of research before I bought my components and everything pointed me to the Asus boards. The new Pentium III chips are very fast, and I think there is a new Pentium 4 Northwood chip that is very good also. If you go with the PIII get the Tualitin chip. If not just make sure whichever you go with has a 133 bus. Those are the 2 most important parts, the CPU and motherboard. After that I would consider getting 2 hard drives instead of just one. I use one to run windows as well as all of my other programs and the 2nd hard drive is only for storage of digital photos etc. You are doing yourself a favor by having your new system custom built. Less garbage and knowing exactly what is in your system pays off in the end. Also knowing that what you get is upgradeable. Good luck, and remember - ASUS & Pentium, you can't go wrong.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks