• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Trainee Pay

Status
Not open for further replies.

BriSteiner

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Washington
I am an appraisal trainee with 6 months left in my training. My trainer wants me to start taking jobs and doing most of the work on my own and in turn will be changing to piecework instead of hourly. I am trying to analyze and come up with a fee sheet and need some advice. How much do others pay trainees for their work per report and how far along do you expect the report for the pay? If you could include your standard fee and in your area so I can calculate for area variances.

back in the day when i had appraisers working under me if you were a trainee and could work on your own you got 40%. when you got certified you got 60%. what exactly do you mean doing most of the work on your own? how much?

Most are 40-60%.

Depends on what the fees are for your mentor.

My avg fee is 400.

Some sign contracts with AMCs for 250-325.

Then you have to consider if they are paying for anything. Health, 401k, gas car, MLS, etc.

If nothing, I would ask for 60%.

FWIW I would try an hourly rate. Business is likely to slow for the next couple of years.

Until an appraiser can go out alone, inspect and create the report, then sign the report (which means licensed or certified) all I am willing to do is an hourly wage. If you can't sign it as an appraiser then you are not an appraiser.