• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

TX DOT, Eminent Domain, and property owner/CPA

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jimmie West

Freshman Member
Review and Rebuttal of TxDot Appraisal

I've tried a few times to create a new thread, but have failed, so please excuse my posting of a new question here, but it seemed a good choice. J

First, I am not a licensed appraiser. However, I am a CPA and a licensed Broker in Texas.

I'm faced with review and rebuttal of a State of Texas commissioned appraisal of a section of my property being "acquired" by the State. The local appraisers don't wish to touch rebutting the State on this highway project.

There are gross errors in the appraisal. I've put together an analysis and review and an opinion of value using the appraiser's provided comps. I do have more comps available to me, and they are more current that that used by the state appraiser, and I intend to prepare an additional valuation using the more current comps (which were also available at the time of the state's appraisal).

Should I follow USPAP Appraisal Review guidelines (I'd prefer to) and how do I address the fact of my personal ownership and interest in the Certification statement. Or is performing an appraisal and/or review for one's own property just completely at odds with the standards of USPAP?

If someone has a an Appraisal Review format that they would share with me, I'd appreciate that as well.

Thanks, Jimmie (I hope my efforts to submit this post aren't creating multiple posts, but I can't get it go through. J)

I'm faced with review and rebuttal of a State of Texas commissioned appraisal of a section of my property being "acquired" by the State. The local appraisers don't wish to touch rebutting the State on this highway project.
How did this fall into your lap?