• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Value Of Replacing Stucco

Status
Not open for further replies.

investor

Freshman Member
Professional Status
General Public
State
Pennsylvania
I'm a real estate agent. About 9 months ago a client of mine agreed to purchase a home for $590k. The exterior of the home is stucco and the client had a stucco inspection done. There were some significant issues and, after estimates were secured, an adjustment of $40k was negotiated. Some but not all of the windows were going to be replaced, extensive caulking was to be done and some of the stucco was to be replaced. The client purchased the home and is now considering replacing all of the stucco and all doors and windows at a cost of $120k ($95k for stucco and $25k for windows and doors). In essence, he will be spending an extra $80k over the original $40k discount that was negotiated. He is wondering how much of the $80k will be reflected in the value of the home post improvements. Can anyone help me out here?

AMF13

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
California
Magic 8 Ball says, less than $80k most likely. :shrug:

hastalavista

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
California
Buyers expect the exterior wall surface (stucco, in your case) and windows to work.
How much is a house worth with its exterior wall surface and windows in working order as expected in the market? Likely as much as any other home that is similar in size, location, etc., and has its exterior walls and windows working. You may get a bump because your components are new/newer than the alternative, but I wouldn't expect that the market would react such that the cost of replacing/repairing those components are fully recaptured.

DTB

Elite Member
Professional Status
State
Illinois