• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Advice from independent certified residential appraisals wanted

Status
Not open for further replies.

SutureSelf

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
California
Good morning! Long time follower, first time poster haha. If I am posting in the wrong place or could find the information I am looking for better please let me know!

I am a trainee working for an AMC and likely sitting for my residential certified exam within the next two months. I had always intended to be independent but getting a supervisor was easier through an AMC. I don’t see myself staying in this bureaucratic setting for too long. Based on the posts I’ve read, I don’t think I need to elaborate too much on what is unattractive about working for an AMC.

I am looking for someone (or anyone) who can share with me what their annual costs are (roughly) and how you begin to venture on your own. I’m sure health insurance, gas, computer programs etc add up but it’s hard to say when it’s built into your employment package at an AMC. Any tips on making connections and building relationships would be helpful too. And has anyone left an AMC and regretted it?

Reactions: Zoe
Any tips on making connections and building relationships would be helpful too. And has anyone left an AMC and regretted it?
Lots of threads dealing with costs, most of it is overhead. Not hard to estimate--MLS access, county auditor access, E&O insurance, license, continuing ed, place to work and hardware, and big variable is mileage. Don't forget the opportunity cost of the benefits you WONT get--insurance, time off, 401K, etc.